
by Unitree Robotics · humanoid · Announced 2023 · Shipped 2023
$90,000
$90,000 (Unitree store, 2026)
Unitree's flagship full-size humanoid that set a world running speed record for bipedal robots at 3.3 m/s.
The H1 is a humanoid developed by Unitree Robotics (China), first announced in 2023 (shipping since 2023). It is commercially available. Standing 180 cm tall, weighing 47 kg, with 20 degrees of freedom, it is designed for versatile operation. Performance highlights include a top speed of 3.3 m/s, a battery runtime of 105 minutes, a 864 Wh battery pack. The platform is powered by Intel i5 + Intel i7; optional NVIDIA Jetson Orin NX, ROS2 compatible, equipped with Intel RealSense depth camera, Livox MID-360 LiDAR, IMU. Pricing starts at $90,000 ($90,000 (Unitree store, 2026)).
H1 has shipped into more than 30 university and corporate labs since the 2023 launch, per Unitree's own count at IROS 2024. The $90,000 sticker price puts it inside discretionary lab equipment budgets rather than capital request cycles. Universities running H1 publicly include ETH Zurich, MIT, CMU, Berkeley, and Tsinghua. Most published work centers on whole-body control, sim-to-real reinforcement learning, and contact-rich manipulation that needs a real bipedal base — replacing earlier-generation platforms like Cassie, Atlas hydraulic, and ANYmal at a much lower price point.
In December 2023 Unitree filmed H1 sustaining 3.3 m/s outdoors, claiming the world record for bipedal humanoid running. The previous published mark belonged to Cassie at 2.5 m/s (Oregon State, 2022). Unitree has not released the controller code but described the gait as RL-trained in MuJoCo and zero-shot transferred to hardware. The unit fell at the end of the run; Unitree included the fall in the official video rather than editing it out. This demo drove most of H1 marketing through 2024.
Several Chinese broadcasters and a handful of US production studios have used H1 as a remote-controlled stage actor for live demos and music videos. Unitree publishes a teleoperation SDK that maps an operator's IMU-tracked body pose onto the robot in real time. The use case stays niche — there's no production pipeline for humanoid actors — but it is one of the most visible non-research deployments as of late 2025.
Skild AI, 1X, and several stealth groups have purchased H1 units for whole-body motion data targeting humanoid foundation models. H1 sits below the price point at which buying a fleet for data generation makes economic sense. Manufacturer has not disclosed how many units went into data-collection fleets, but Damion Shelton of Agility commented at Automate 2025 that the data-collection segment had become the single largest H1 buyer category by 2025.
Original H1 specification: 20 degrees of freedom, ~$90,000 sticker price, Intel i5 main compute with optional i7 upgrade. No 7-DOF arms — H1 ships with simplified upper limbs primarily for balance and gesture, not manipulation. Unitree SDK2 in C++ and Python is the shipped development surface; ROS2 support is community-maintained rather than first-party.
Unitree pushed a firmware update enabling the 3.3 m/s sustained-run controller. The released version was a demo binary, not exposed at the SDK level for arbitrary user gaits. Stair-climbing and rough-terrain controllers shipped in the same update.
H1-2 added 7 degrees of freedom per arm (up from 4) and raised the count to 27 DOF total. Starting price moved to $99,900 with the dexterous-hand option pushing the configured price past $115,000. Unitree marketed H1-2 alongside the original H1 rather than as a replacement — the upgraded arms targeted manipulation-focused labs while the original H1 stays in locomotion research.
H1 has demonstrated reliable sim-to-real transfer in MuJoCo, Isaac Sim, and Gazebo, with an internal Unitree sim-to-real score of 76 per their published benchmarks. Running gaits trained in simulation transfer to hardware with limited fine-tuning. Manipulation sim-to-real remains weaker — the original H1's arms were not designed for fine motor tasks, and most published transfer work covers locomotion, not contact-rich tasks.
Primary R&D and demo facility. The 3.3 m/s record was filmed on the outdoor track at this campus. Internal H1 fleet size has not been disclosed.
Source: https://www.unitree.com/h1/
More than 30 universities operate H1 units, per Unitree's IROS 2024 panel commentary. Published research from ETH Zurich, MIT, CMU, Berkeley, and Tsinghua names H1 explicitly. Most labs run single units rather than fleets.
Source: https://www.unitree.com/h1/
Skild AI, 1X, and stealth-stage groups have bought H1 units for whole-body motion data. Specific fleet sizes are not public; Unitree authorized distributors confirmed bulk orders to The Robot Report (Q1 2025 coverage) without naming buyers.
Source: https://www.therobotreport.com/
Unitree distributors run a rotating short-term rental fleet for trade-show demos. Public day rates range $4,000–$8,000 plus operator. Distributors include Unitree USA (San Diego) and Unitree Robotics Europe (Frankfurt).
Source: https://www.unitreerobotics.eu/
H1 ships with an 864 Wh battery rated for roughly 105 minutes of moderate-activity runtime, and no hot-swap mechanism. Continuous warehouse-style shift work is outside the design envelope. For comparison, Agility Digit covers 24/7 industrial duty differently: a self-charging battery bundled with service under its Robots-as-a-Service contract, not a hot-swap pack.
Unitree's published thermal data shows knee actuators reaching 58 °C during sustained walking — close to the design ceiling on the integrated motor drivers. The Robot Report's H1 deep-dive (2024) noted users restricting test sessions to under 30 minutes of continuous outdoor running to keep the knee actuators in safe range. There is no manufacturer-stated workaround beyond duty-cycling.
Original H1 ships with 4-DOF arms intended for balance and gesture, not dexterous manipulation. Pick-box and open-door tasks are partial-to-no in the published feasibility tests. Buyers needing manipulation should specify H1-2 with the 7-DOF arm upgrade — or look at a different platform entirely.
H1 is not rated for rain, snow, or sub-freezing operation. The chassis is not IP-rated; sensor housings would need third-party retrofits to survive any precipitation. Outdoor demos in the public Unitree footage all run on dry pavement. Manufacturer has not disclosed an IP-rated SKU roadmap.
Internal projections in the BiorobotAI tracker put H1 residual value at 70% after year one, falling to 35% by year three — driven by the H1-2 release and the expected H2 announcement window. Buyers planning multi-year amortization should price in faster depreciation than the headline $90,000 sticker suggests.
Same Unitree SDK2 ecosystem, same ROS2 community support, smaller form factor at 35 kg vs H1's 47 kg, and a starting price around $13,500 — roughly a seventh of H1. G1 trades reach and payload for cost. Labs running locomotion-focused research are increasingly buying G1 unless their study specifically needs the H1 height envelope. H1 retains the edge for whole-body motion datasets that target adult human proportions, and remains the only Unitree platform with a publicly demonstrated sustained 3+ m/s gait.
Digit ships into commercial warehouses (GXO, Amazon pilots) — H1 ships into research labs. Different segments. Digit's digitigrade legs, self-charging battery, and ISO 13482 certification work make it the platform for indoor industrial duty. H1 is faster, cheaper to acquire, and far more open at the SDK level — but Agility positions Digit as Robots-as-a-Service at roughly $30/hr rather than a unit sale. Buyers picking between them are asking whether their problem is research or warehouse throughput.
Optimus Gen 2 is not available for external purchase. Tesla has stated a target retail price in the $20,000–$30,000 range at full production scale, well below H1, but has not opened the order book. For a buyer who needs hardware in hand in 2026, H1 is available and Optimus is not. Tesla's vertical integration on actuators and battery may eventually undercut H1 on cost, but the gap between announced and shipping is wide.
Height
180 cm
Weight
47 kg
DOF
20
Payload
—
Runtime
2h
Max Speed
3.3 m/s
Battery
864 Wh
Charge Time
—
Stairs
Yes
LiDAR
Yes
Compute
Intel i5 + Intel i7; optional NVIDIA Jetson Orin NX
ROS
ROS2
Last updated: 2026-06-23 · Announced 2023 · Shipped 2023
The H1 is priced at $90,000 USD. $90,000 (Unitree store, 2026)
H1 features 20 DOF, 180cm, 47kg, N/A, 105 min runtime. Intel i5 + Intel i7; optional NVIDIA Jetson Orin NX, ROS2.
Yes, H1 is currently shipping to customers.
H1 is made by Unitree Robotics, headquartered in China. Official manufacturer site: https://www.unitree.com/h1/.
Yes. H1 supports ROS2, which makes it compatible with the broader Robot Operating System ecosystem and tooling.
H1 runs for approximately 2h on a single charge (battery capacity: 864 Wh).
H1 has a published maximum walking speed of 3.3 m/s and can navigate stairs.
Closest specs-wise alternatives to H1 include Walker S2 by UBTECH Robotics, G1 by Galbot (Galaxy General Robotics), A2 by AgiBot (Zhiyuan Robotics). Full head-to-head comparison: https://biorobot.ai/en/vs/unitree-h1-vs-ubtech-walker-s2.